EPA Plaine du Var - Organization

EPA Plaine du Var - Organization

 Piloting the operation

The Public Urban Development Agency called EPA Plaine du Var was founded by decree on 30 July, 2008. The State put it in charge of piloting the Operation National Interest of the Plaine du Var. Its mission is to give shape to the Eco-Vallée project. The agency is directed by an Administrative Council and animated by a full time team.


The Administrative Council

The EPA Plaine du Var Administrative Council is composed of 27 members. It is presided by Christian Tordo, Deputy Mayor of Nice, in charge of finance, economy and employment and President of the employment commission and of the economic development of the Nice Côte d’Azur metropolis. The two Vice-Presidents are Christian Estrosi, President of the Nice Côte d’Azur metropolis and Mayor of Nice, and Thierry Lemoine, designated by the Minister in charge of urbanism.


The Administrative Council is organized around three colleges :

The first includes representatives of the State and its Ministries (Urbanism, Transport, Budget, Housing, Environment…).

The second is composed of stake holders within the territorial collectivities: Regional Council, General Council, Nice Côte d’Azur metropolis, the commune communities of Coteaux d’Azur and the Vallée de l’Estéron.

The third involves the Presidents of partner institutions such as the Nice Côte d’Azur Chamber of Commerce, the Nice Sophia Antipolis University, as well as a range of experts.


The key orientations of the Eco-Vallée are decided within the Administrative Council, such as the operation’s financial protocol voted in 2011.


The team

The EPA is animated by a permanent team, headed by Pascal GAUTHIER. This team is in charge of organizing the Administrative Council meetings, and plays key role in liaising among its different members and carrying out its directives, in line with the territorial project and the financial protocol. It also manages projects which are under EPA supervision, handling the coordination among all the partners of the projects (territorial collectivities, municipalities, developers, architects...).